The Xbox One will now launch in 8 less countries this holiday

Microsoft, through their Xbox blog, announced today that though they had announced launching the Xbox One in 21 countries this holiday season this past E3 that they will have to postpone the platform’s launch in 8 countries to early 2014. Microsoft acknowledged their snafu, describing their initial projections as an “aggressive goal” and that they have “been working very hard to deliver Xbox One to as many markets as possible.”

The 8 countries in question are:

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Russia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

To make up for this delay, Microsoft plans to include a game with the Xbox One released in the affected countries, though they would not reveal what game this could be.

Though Microsoft declined to comment as to the cause of the delay for these regions, some speculate that the production of the processor is slowing down the production of the console. We identified this potential scenario in an earlier piece that talked about what could have possibly happened behind closed doors which can be read here for those who are curious.


0 thoughts on “The Xbox One will now launch in 8 less countries this holiday

  1. When you have devs from DICE stating that Sweden is getting PS4, that’s an issue. I’m not privy to the inner workings of MS, console manufacturing or anything of that ilk, but when the home country of the developer of one of your biggest launch titles is taking sides, then Houston, we have a problem.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s